Minor and major scales

So I was learning my A minor scale and realized that one of my songs is in A minor aeolian rather than A minor Dorian. My question is when I’m learning my A minor scale, do I still leave the diminished chord in the same place?

Ex: C major scale has A minor as the sixth note thus being A minor Aeolian mode. Do I keep the diminished chord from the C major just the way it is or does it become something else when I’m focusing on the The A minor Aeolian mode scale. Does this even make sense?? I’m still learning. Thanks everyone!

To the best of my knowledge, yes. A Aeolian uses the same set of notes (A, B, C, D, E, F, G) as C Ionian/Major, you’re just using A as a tonal center instead of C. Thus the chords you can build will be the same as well, so the chord built on B is still diminished, but it happens to fall on the 2nd degree of the scale instead of the 7th. Though if you add the 7th degree to the chord built on B, it becomes evident that it is only half-diminished, as B to A is a b7, not bb7.

Hey @fabianarellano31 !
I’m not sure if I get you right. If you are asking, if you still use B dim (triads! For four-chords you speak of “half-diminished” - just as @nexion218 wrote) when you are playing A dorian, the answer would be: No!

When we simplify things by saying dorian is the second mode (II), B would be the third (III) and therefore phrygian (Bm(7)). You would use the G ionian scale, so G Am Bm C D Em F#dim(7).

But maybe I got you wrong?

If you ask, if you are playing a B diminished scale while the root note of the chord(! - not song) you are playing to is A aeolian, I have to say, that you aren’t. You can’t mix two colors at the same time. One color will always dominate, and that is very likely the one of the chord you are playing to.

Is this too complicated? Sorry, this is hard to explain without knowing, what you already know about therory.