How much time te learn a full song?

This week i started learning “Revelations” from Iron Maiden. It is a fairly simple song for me rythmwise (i did not checked the solo yet). If i pick a single riff i can nail it in some minute with no problem. But i feel i’am fairly slow in putting it all together and make the full song mine. I’m growing old (46) so i suspect that my ability to memorize is start failing.

How much time do you invest to learn the rythm part of a song?

1 Like

Oh well… Anywhere in between 30 minutes to 3 years really…:rofl:

Seriously though, it depends on the difficultynof the song in question. I’d like to believe that with the help of at least some basic tabulature I could make a passable version of a Maiden or Metallica song’s rhythm parts that I haven’t played before in a couple of hours. But if it’s some demanding stuff, like a song from my current favorite Revocation, well, that’s when I need the 3 years… :rofl:

Well, if you know revelations i think we can agree that as far as riff goes is an easy song. I can spot a riff in 3-5 minute and ail the whole song in 30 minutes. But i’m more concerned in nail a full playthrough of an easy song without the support of a tableture or similar (i often use gpro or goplayalong to scroll the tab automatically) and only using memory. Just like you should learn it for a live show, i mean. Still fit in the 30 minutes time for you?

If you play along enough to something like guitar pro and don’t stress about it like if you make a mistake, just continue playing, you will get the song committed to memory in no time.

2 Likes

Yeah that’s a good question bro. I would have to say that would depend on the riff. I like to play some speed metal. It definitely pushes your boundaries…

I think it best to work on putting together several (or a few…) songs as if your going through your set list. Working on only just one song can get monotonous.