Changing String (floating tremolo)

Hi guys! Happy New Year!

I need some help with regards to changing strings of my ibanez az prestige. My guitar has a floating tremolo. Can you show me how to block the trem so I can remove all the strings and clean the fretbord/frets first. Others say that I need to put a cloth box in the cavity of the trem. But I don’t have any idea on how to do it. Thank you!

1 Like

Just take out the springs in the back cavity, remove the bridge and put it aside together with the strings, do the cleaning and put everything back in a backwards order. I’ve no experience with these Gotoh (?) units your giutar is equipped with, but this is how I deal with the Floyds I have. I personally never liked the idea of wedging all sorts of stuff into my guitar… Also, if you just change the strings, change one string at a time! That way you don’t have to re-balance the floating bridge. If you change stinge gauges, I’d still do it this way - you will have to set up the bridge either way, but I think it’s easier to start from a previously balanced position tha from totally ground zero. Butthat’s just me, many guys swear by this blocking method.

If you really want to do the blocking thing, then the idea is to put a piece of wood between the sustain block of the bridge and the wall of the cavity in the guitar body. A quick search on youtube about “how to block a floating trem” or something to that effect will return more than enough vids to cue you in! :wink: But be precise with the size of the block, as once you remove the strings, the springs will pull the bridge into the body/cavity with full force and if the block is not thick enough to block any and all movement, than your guitar’s finish or wood might not be so happy about it… :smiley: So absolutely no wiggle room!

2 Likes