Best mid range Electric guitar

Hey, I am receiving a few messages from people who are looking for a new guitar but can’t/don’t want to buy an expensive model.
Sounds like this is a great question to ask this forum since we all have the guitar bug (GAS…) and it might be a different answer depending on where you live.
I was thinking, something between $500 and $1000 new,

What would you recommend?

I think to get a truly midrange giutar, I’d go used with that money. Unfortunately midrange stuff new is more like 1000 USD over here… :frowning:

Ah you’re right, this amount is a bit too low, let me change the price range

I’m just condensing all my comments into one:

Schecter

PRS SE

Gibson (maybe a little over)

Jackson (maybe charvel too if it’s the same quality)

Fender made in Mexico.

I’ve heard good things about solar, but I have no experience

Last thing: try before you buy. You want to find YOUR guitar, though now might not be a great time to try stuff (pandemic and all), you want to get a guitar you will keep picking up after the honeymoon is over.

1 Like

Epiphone Les Paul Custom and upgrade the bridge pickup if you think it’s necessary. I had one in Silverburst and was happy with the sound and feel.

2 Likes

Maybe the best advice here is try before you buy like @ironsabbath2112 said or find a retailer with impeccable return policy.

They can be hit or miss in this range unfortunately. Swapping lower end hardware is no biggie, eventually would do it anyways. But sloppy routings or botched fretjobs can’t be fixed at home and without doling out cash again, which is a big no-no when spending a grand on a new guitar.